top of page

What Are the Houses in Astrology?

Updated: Apr 19, 2020

The zodiac is divided into 12 sectors called “houses”. In astrology, each house is intrinsically linked with a different sign and planet. The various houses represent a different area of life; they describe physical surroundings as well as personal life experiences. The zodiac begins with the first house, and goes counterclockwise around. What house each sign falls in is determined by your birth time and birth location.

If you would like to augment your understanding of how to interpret a birth chart, read on to learn the key meanings for each house. This knowledge will be beneficial in knowing how the planets, signs and houses in your own natal chart interact to reveal and inform the person you are today. If you do not know what houses your Sun, Moon and Rising signs fall in, visit and click on "Extended Chart Selection" to learn more.


First House: Personality, physical body, first impressions, life approach, self-identity, will power, instinct, vitality. Ruled by Mars and Aries

Second House: Values, self-worth, material resources, sensual experiences, family dynamic, early childhood, spouse, where/how you get/utilize your energy. Ruled by Venus and Taurus

Third House: Logic, communication, environment, siblings, early schooling, neighbors, short-distance travels, social and intellectual learning. Ruled by Mercury and Gemini

Fourth House: Home, heritage, family, foundations, your roots, the maternal figure, comfort, security, inner mind and emotions. Ruled by the Moon and Cancer

Fifth House: Ego, pleasures, inner child, speculative business, pride, self-expression, art, creativity, children, dating, romance, sex, entertainment. Ruled by the Sun and Leo

Sixth House: Work, health, chores, routine, daily activities, learning by material transaction, self-improvement, practical service. Ruled by Mercury and Virgo

Zodiac Wheel, often referred to in Medical Astrology
According to ancient astrology, each house is not only tied to a different sign and planet, but also to a different part of the body.

Seventh House: Marriage, relationships, business partnerships, shadow side, teamwork, give and take, social and intellectual action. Ruled by Venus and Libra

Eighth House: Sex, mystery, secrets, the occult, sharing, transformation, intensity, psychology, intimacy, alternative healing practices, taxes, emotional security, security of the soul. Ruled by Pluto/Mars and Scorpio

Ninth House: Higher education, travel, foreign lands, philosophy, spirituality, teachers, gurus, religion, learning that shapes the identity. Ruled by Jupiter and Sagittarius

Tenth House: Career, social standing, reputation, public or online image, social influence, public recognition, status, the paternal figure, material action, authority figures, government. Ruled by Saturn and Capricorn

Eleventh House: Hopes and dreams, fame, friends, organizations, network circles, technology, invention, collective consciousness, the search for social and intellectual security. Ruled by Uranus/Saturn and Aquarius

Twelfth House: Dreams (sleep), mental illness, isolation, unconditional love, hidden enemies, hidden bed pleasures, foreign lands, unconscious, imagination, transcendence, self-undoing. Ruled by Neptune/Jupiter and Pisces


Interested in learning more? Book a reading with Stella Love Astrology today to receive a personalized interpretation of your natal chart ~ 💖


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page